Skip to main content



  • Oklahoma State University (Bachelor of Science in agricultural economics and accounting, 1980)
  • University of Oklahoma College of Law (Juris Doctor, 1983)
    • Order of the Coif, Nathan Scarritt Prize (for graduating first in the class academically), S.T. Bledsoe Memorial Prize, F.C. Love Memorial Scholarship, American Judicature Society Award, Welcome D. Pierson Memorial Award, Earl Appleton Brown Memorial Award, Prentice-Hall Tax Award, Robert B. Looper Memorial Scholarship (for overall academic achievement), two-term note editor of the Oklahoma Law Review


  • United States Tax Court
  • State Bar of Oklahoma
  • United States District Court for the Western District of Oklahoma


  • Oklahoma Bar Association
  • American Bar Association
  • Oklahoma Bar Association: Taxation Section – former Chairman
  • Oklahoma Society of Certified Public Accountants
  • American Institute of Certified Public Accountants


  • Best Lawyers in America – Tax Law, Trusts and Estates, Nonprofit/Charities Law, Corporate law, mergers & Acquisitions
  • Oklahoma’s Super Lawyers – Mergers & Acquisitions/Tax
  • Best Lawyers 2019 Lawyer of the Year, Oklahoma City – Trusts and Estates
  • Best Lawyers 2011 Lawyer of the Year, Oklahoma City – Non-Profit & Charities
  • Chambers USA Guide to America’s Leading Lawyers
  • Accounting Hall of Fame (Oklahoma State University)
  • Farm House Fraternity International Builder of Men Award


  • American Heart Association, Oklahoma Affiliate: Board of Directors – former chairman, secretary, treasurer and board member
  • Oklahoma City Community Foundation: Board of Trustees – former chairman and investment committee member
  • Former Director of Southwest Bancorp.; former Chairman of First Commercial Bank